Directors and Administrators can organize user accounts into collections called groups. Groups are particularly useful for assigning permissions to assets, shared searches, collections, or user attribute sets.
Built-in groups
All NetX sites after 11.19.0 include two built-in groups. These groups cannot be manually edited.
- Administrators: contains all Administrator-level users.
- Everyone: contains all user accounts.
Creating a group
- Navigate to the Groups tab of the Systems area.
- Click the Add group button in the top right.
- In the Add group dialog, enter a Name for the group.
- Select the users you want to add by typing into the Add user field. To remove users, click the X next to their username.
- When finished, click Save.
Managing group members
To manage a group's Members, navigate to the Groups tab of the Systems area and select the desired group.
From within this table, you can:
- Filter and sort the list of members
- Add users to the group
- Bulk select users to manage
- Remove users
- Login as a user.
Add/remove group members
- Navigate to the Groups tab of the Systems area.
- Click the Add users button beside the group's action menu.
- Add users by typing into the Add user field. To remove users, click the X next to their name.
- Click Save when finished.
Additionally, selecting multiple users at once allows you to remove those users in bulk with one action, using the Trash button beside the count of selected users.
Other actions
Exporting user data
To download a group's user data as a data file:
- Navigate to the Groups tab of the Systems area.
- Click the action menu icon for the specific group and choose Export.
- A CSV containing the group's user data will download to your local storage.
Renaming a group
- Navigate to the Groups tab of the Systems area.
- Click the action menu icon for the specific group and choose Rename.
- When finished editing the group name, click Save.
Restrictions
Apply restrictions to a group's ability to view assets based on designated attribute values. For more on restrictions and their management, see Restrictions.
Deleting a group
- Navigate to the Groups tab of the Systems area.
- Click the action menu icon for the specific group and choose Delete.
- Choose Delete to confirm the deletion.
Additionally, selecting multiple groups at once allows you to remove those groups in bulk with one action, using the Trash button beside the count of selected users.