Advanced and Keyword searches performed can be saved for quick access, shared internally with other NetX users on your team, and notify you when new assets meet your saved search criteria.
Creating a saved search
- Perform an advanced or keyword search.
- When results are shown, use the gallery action menu and select Save search.
- Give your search a name as well as a notification preference. Notification emails can be sent as soon as possible, daily, weekly, or never. Only the original creator of the saved search can receive notifications.
- Click Save when finished.
Viewing saved searches
Saved searches can be accessed via the search icon in the sidebar.
- Selecting View all at the bottom of the sidebar displays loads all saved searches you have access to in the gallery. From here, you can favorite, share, and edit, depending on your participant role
- Searches can be viewed as cards or in a list.
- Selecting a saved search will execute the search and load results into the asset gallery.
Favoriting saved searches
- Only favorited searches will appear in the saved search sidebar.
- Saved searches you create will be favorited automatically. Searches shared with you from other users need to be manually favorited. To do so use a search's action menu and choose Add favorite, or use the star button on the saved search in the gallery.
Saved search actions
Choose from the following options available from the saved search action menu:
Using the Edit action, you can view and edit the saved search rules via an advanced search window. Editing a saved search is non-destructive; if you perform a new search after editing the rules, you must save it as a new saved search.
The Rename action allows a Manager participant to:
- Rename the search. This will change the name of the search for all users.
- Change the notification setting for the search; this will only impact the search's creator.
Toggles the favorite status of an individual search; this determines whether the search is displayed on the Saved searches sidebar.
Share with team
Shares the search internally with other NetX users. See below for more information regarding sharing searches and search roles.
Manager participants can delete the search from the system, removing access from all other shared users.
Sharing a saved search
Saved searches can be shared with other NetX users. Participant roles allow you to control which actions can be performed by these users.
Administrator users are subject to role restrictions while using collections shared with them from other users. This means even if a browser were to share a collection with an administrator as a viewer, that administrator would still only be able to access that collection as a viewer with all attendant restrictions.
When sharing a saved search, you can assign participant roles granting certain privileges to the saved search object itself. These roles are not related to user levels and are subject to standard asset permissions, i.e. even if a user is given a participant role (such as manager), they will not be able to view assets they have not been granted system permission to access.
- Viewers: Viewers can view the saved search in question or create a new saved search using the Edit action, but cannot delete, rename, or share the search with other NetX users.
- Contributors: Contributors can view the saved search in question, rename the search, or create a new saved search using the Edit action. They cannot delete or share the search with other NetX users.
- Managers: Managers can view the saved search in question, rename the search, create a new saved search using the Edit action, share the search with other NetX users, or delete the search. When you create a saved search, you will automatically be given a manager role. Note that all shared saved searches require at least one manager. If the only user account with a manager role is deleted from the system, the saved search will still be accessible by those it was shared with, but can no longer be managed.
Sharing with a team
To share your search with other users, initiate a share action on a saved search you have manager-level access to.
- Select the Share with team action from the saved search sidebar or the search's gallery header.
- Use the drop-downs and input box to assign a role, select your principal (user, group, or all users), then the target user or group. Each addition will take place immediately, even if you have not clicked Done.
- Every role can be edited once it has been assigned with the Participant column dropdown, or deleted with the action menu icon.
- Once you are finished, click Done. Note that if a user is given multiple roles – either explicitly or as a group or with all users – the most permissive role will take precedence.
NetX will notify participants of their new shared search. You can also check Share message to participants to include a custom message to new users of the saved search.